« Back to Blog

St. Helens Community Celebrates Another Successful Year

female employee talks to two high school students

ST. HELENS, Ore., April 20, 2017: St. Helens Community Credit Union, the community’s oldest locally headquartered financial institution, held its 77th annual meeting on the evening of April 18, 2017. Members were treated to an overview of the credit union’s community involvement and charitable giving in 2016, as well as insight into the future of the credit union that was established in 1938.

St. Helens Community President and CEO Brooke Van Vleet shared the credit union’s current financial health, which included granting a record of nearly $70 million in loans last year.

“It was a great year,” Van Vleet explained about the credit union’s performance in 2016. “We were also proud to have donated over $30,000 to schools and local non profit organizations in 2016. We sponsored FBLA students, taught financial education at local high schools, awarded thousands of dollars in scholarships, and supported 18 local youth sports teams as well as 34 community events.”

Along with a review of upcoming enhancements to its online banking platform and credit card offerings, Van Vleet and the Board of Directors were proud to share the credit union’s community involvement, including participation in Teacher Appreciation Day, serving meals at the local senior centers, and assembling personal hygiene bags for those in need.

David Graham, Amanda Komp, and Richard Louie were elected to new three year terms on the board of directors. Tom Tussing, St. Helens Community Board Chairman, closed the meeting by thanking those in attendance and looking forward to another outstanding year of opportunity.

At the reorganizational board meeting immediately following the annual meeting, Michael Ismert was elected chairman, Steve Correll vice-chairman, Seth Holmes secretary, and Richard Louie treasurer. Scott Bremmer and Gordy Jarman were appointed to continue serving on the supervisory committee along with ongoing committee members Sandy Nicholson, David Graham and Christy Settle.